Nick Wagman Receives 2019 Patsy Albers Award

Wed, 09/04/2019 - 09:11
Nick Wagman and Don John at the 2019 U.S. Dressage Championships :: Photo © Andrea Evans

Nick Wagman is the recipient of the 2019 Patsy Albers Award, established in 2012 in special remembrance of Patsy. The $1,000 award provides financial support for continuing education and training to a High Performance rider.

The Patsy Albers Award is given to the highest placing Grand Prix rider at the Championships who also competed for the U.S. at a previous North American Young Riders Championship.

Nick Wagman of San Diego, California, and Don John, an 11-year-old KWPN owned by Beverly Gepfer, captured the 2019 US Grand Prix Championship held at Lamplight Equestrian Center. 

About his lifelong commitment to the sport, Wagman shared, “I’ve been riding dressage most of my life. To have competed at the North American Youth Championship (then NAYRC) in 1993 and now be riding Grand Prix alongside America’s other top riders, is just proof that this sport is a lifelong endeavor. It takes so much to be able to pursue the top. I’m honored and grateful to receive the generous Patsy Albers Award. Thank you!”

Beverly Gepfer, owner of Don John, said, “Nick is an amazing horse trainer and the bonds he has created between himself and the horses he rides is something almost inexplainable!   He is a talented man and we are so lucky to be able to support his dreams in riding our horses.”

Patsy Albers, one of the nation's best known figures at dressage shows across the country, passed away in October 2012.  She was a longtime supporter and Chef d'Equipe of the North American Junior/Young Rider Championship (NAJYRC) Region 1 team.  She was also very involved at the prestigious Dressage at Devon where she served for many years as the FEI Event Director.  Her expertise also extended into management, officiating, and volunteering, for which she was honored multiple times.

Photo © Andre Evans/USEF

Related Links
Jennifer Williams Receives TDF's 2018 Patsy Albers Award
Patsy Albers Award to be Given at 2018 Festival of Champions
Heather Oleson Awarded 2015 Patsy Albers Award
Adrienne Lyle Receives 2014 Patsy Albers Award
Kathleen Raine First Recipient of Patsy Albers Award
Patsy Albers Award Fund to Honour High Performance Young Riders
Patsy Albers Passed Away